Camp Kulin Manager announced as the AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award National Winner for 2017!

In September 2017, Deputy Prime Minister, the Honourable Barnaby Joyce, announced Tanya Dupagne as the AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award National Winner. The announcement was made in front of over 470 media, alumni, government officials, friends and family of the finalists, significant industry and private sector representatives at a black tie gala dinner at Parliament House in Canberra.

As the national winner, Tanya will receive a $10,000 bursary from Westpac (adding to the $10,000 bursary she received as the WA State Winner) to further progress her winning project – a camp program to support women from regional WA to develop their leadership skills and capacity – plus also assist with speaking engagements as the national winner.

John Harvey, AgriFutures Australia Managing Director, congratulated Tanya and says her impact on the volunteers and participants at Camp Kulin, as well as the Kulin community, is an example of leadership at it’s best.

“Tanya is a true example of everything the AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award stands for. She has the drive and the capacity to create real change and also innovated to create a completely new industry for the Wheatbelt, which in turn will support other rural and regional businesses in the supply chain,” Mr Harvey says.

Tanya is looking forward to the year ahead, and to starting the Camp Kulin Ladies Camp Program.

“This program will target women living and working in rural and regional areas, providing personal development and leadership skills training to increase their self-esteem and equip them to take on leadership roles and initiate change in their own communities, “Tanya said. “I am very thankful to AgriFutures Australia and the AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award for this fantastic opportunity.”